top of page


Professional Qualifying
Examinations (PQEs)

The Professional Qualifying Examinations (PQEs) form the pinnacle of the Institute's qualifications. Passing these 7 exams demonstrates your developed knowledge and understanding of the commercial shipping industry.

The PQE program comprises seven exams, taken over a period of up to five years. Of these, four exams are compulsory and the remaining three can be chosen from a list of 12 optional subjects.

Untitled design (7).png

Advanced Diploma

The Advanced Diploma has been designed as a stepping stone into full professional qualification and suits those who have some industry knowledge. Like the Foundation Diploma, the Advanced Diploma is a recognized and respected qualification and it can count towards your Professional Qualifying Examinations.

Foundation Diploma 

The Foundation Diploma is ideal for people with little industry experience, but who would like to gain practical knowledge and a sound qualification.  It involves taking the Introduction to Shipping paper plus one other subject from group 1 (except Shipping Business) or from group 2 list of optional papers from the Institute's syllabus.

Untitled design (10).png
bottom of page